This video was produced from a partnership between the Canadian Biosphere Reserves Association and the University of Saskatchewan, School of Environment and Sustainability funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.

The 16 Biosphere Reserves in Canada are both geographic areas and convener organizations dedicated to balance economic development with sustaining healthy ecosystems. They are designated because of the expressed engagement of local communities to work towards these goals and are designated by UNESCO through its Man and the Biosphere (MAB) Programme. Increasingly, Biosphere Reserves are recognized as learning or model areas for sustainability. Three core functions of Biosphere Reserves are conservation; sustainable development; and providing support for research, demonstration, and learning.

UNESCO’s MAB Programme

UNESCO’S Man and the Biosphere Programme (MAB) was launched as an Intergovernmental Scientific Programme aiming to enhance the understanding of socio-ecological systems and to support capacity-building towards the sustainable use of natural resources. Its interdisciplinary and practical approach seeks to foster creative solutions to allow for human development while conserving the planet's life support systems. Having celebrated its 40th anniversary in 2011, MAB continues to evolve by supporting the sharing of knowledge between scientists and practitioners and among local, regional and international levels to developing strategies based on common objectives. Biosphere Reserves are the main mechanism, by which MAB objectives are implemented, tested, and redefined.  

The Canadian MAB Committee is an ad hoc committee of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO that guide the implementation of UNESCO’s MAB mandate by utilizing a ''Canadian-approach'' to developing Biosphere Reserves. This approach emphasizes community-based partnerships and bottom-up strategies.

Stakeholders map-MAB programme and Biosphere Reserves in Canada (Credit: Colleen George)

MAB ICC (UNESCO)= MAB Intergovernmental Coordinating Council
IACBR (UNESCO)= International Advisory Committee on Biosphere Reserves
CBRA=Canadian Biosphere Reserves Association

Cette vidéo a été produite dans le cadre d'un partenariat entre l'Association canadienne des Réserves de la biosphère et l'Université de Saskatchewan, financé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.

Les 16 réserves de la biosphère du Canada sont à la fois des aires géographiques et des organismes responsables voués à la recherche d’un équilibre entre le développement économique et la durabilité des écosystèmes. Leur désignation repose sur l’engagement des collectivités locales à poursuivre ces objectifs dans le cadre du Programme sur l’homme et la biosphère (MAB) de l’UNESCO. De plus en plus, les réserves de la biosphère sont reconnues comme des aires d’apprentissage et des modèles en matière de développement durable. Leurs trois fonctions essentielles sont la conservation, le développement durable et le soutien des activités de recherche, de démonstration et d’apprentissage.

Programme MAB de l'UNESCO

Le Programme sur l’homme et la biosphère (MAB) de l’UNESCO fut lancé en tant que programme scientifique intergouvernemental dans le but d’améliorer la compréhension des systèmes socioécologiques et de favoriser le renforcement des capacités en matière d’exploitation durable des ressources naturelles. Par son approche pratique et interdisciplinaire, le programme préconise des solutions créatives permettant un développement humain profitable à la santé des écosystèmes. Ayant célébré son 40e anniversaire en 2011, il continue d’évoluer en favorisant le partage des connaissances entre scientifiques et praticiens à l’échelle locale, régionale et internationale, en vue d’élaborer des stratégies fondées sur des objectifs communs. Les réserves de la biosphère représentent le mécanisme permettant au Programme MAB de vérifier, de mettre en œuvre et de redéfinir ses objectifs.

Le Comité MAB canadien est un comité ad hoc de la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO qui guide la mise en œuvre du Programme MAB en appliquant une approche canadienne dans le développement des réserves de la biosphère. Cette approche met l’accent sur l’établissement de partenariats au sein des collectivités ainsi que sur l’emploi de stratégies ascendantes de développement socioéconomique.

Carte des parties prenantes-Programme MAB et Réserves de la biosphère au Canada (Crédit: Colleen George)

MAB ICC (UNESCO)= Conseil international de Coordination du programme MAB
IACBR (UNESCO)= Comité consultatif international sur les Réserves de la biosphère
CBRA=Association canadienne des Réserves de la biosphère